The Edible Garden

The Edible Garden

The Edible Garden first aired in 2010. Alys Fowler hopes to avoid all shop brought food and vegetables and produce everything she needs from her small Birmingham back garden.

Alys grows her seasonal produce amongst her flowers and herbs to still make an attractive garden as well as helping with pest control naturally.

Chickens are a welcome addition to the garden and for eating any food waste and the odd caterpillar.

The series of 6 episodes is spread throughout the growing year and are a mixture of gardening, cooking, preserving, foraging, bountiful harvests as well as growing disasters. 

The Edible Garden is a very enjoyable armchair gardening programme, as well as inspiring you to grow your own in a 'hippy dippy' way. 

However small a patch you have, some vegetables can be squeezed in and you cannot beat homegrown.

The Edible Garden Presenter

Alys Fowler

Alys Fowler

The Edible Garden Episodes

Episode 1: Peas & Beans

Episode 2: Salads

Episode 3: Roots & Leafy Greens

Episode 4: Juicy Fruits

Episode 5: Flowers & Herbs

Episode 6: The Winter Larder

The Edible Garden Book

The Edible Garden: How to Have Your Garden and Eat It
by Alys Fowler

All photographs are copyright of BBC .com

Share this post

1 comment: